Torpedo – A Surface Warfare Thriller by Jeff Edwards

 Click on cover image to purchase a copy

Click on cover image to purchase a copy

MWSA Review

I have never been as turned on by an action book of any kind, as I was with “Torpedo” by Jeff Edwards. This is a real page burner that will grab you by the throat as you go from one situation to another with the naval crews portrayed in the novel. This book takes us into today’s world of terrorists. It leaves you feeling that all of this could possibly actually happen today, or tomorrow, in some part of the world.

This is the best naval action novel that I have ever read and is perhaps, the best book of its genre of the last decade! This book screams out for a movie version. Some day we may see this book’s story portrayed on the movie screens of the world. It is that kind of action story.

This book deals with illegal arms deals, biological attacks on an embassy in Washington D.C. and an enemy within our own NATO family of nations. We are given a look at naval warfare tactics in action by an author who seems to be an expert at educating us, the readers, as we are completely drawn into the story line. It is a must read!

Reviewed by: Bill McDonald (2005)


Author's Synopsis

For fans of Tom Clancy, Joe Buff, and Dale Brown…

OUT GUNNED… OUT MANEUVERED… OUT THOUGHT… THE ONLY WAY TO SURVIVE IS TO CHANGE THE RULES.

A minor accident at a German nuclear power plant, a Biological Warfare attack on the British Embassy in Washington, DC, and a secret arms deal combine to drive a trusted NATO Ally into an illegal alliance with a rogue Middle Eastern state. With the world hovering on the brink of war, a handful of U.S. Navy warships must track down and destroy a wolfpack of state-of-the-art submarines.

Their enemy is skilled in deception, and incredibly lethal. Out-gunned, out-maneuvered, and out-thought, the U.S. Navy crews must throw the rulebook out the window, and become every bit as devious and deadly as their enemy.

If they fail, the consequences are unthinkable…

A timeless warrior epic. Jeff Edwards spins a stunning and irresistibly-believable tale of savage modern naval combat.” — JOE BUFF, Bestselling author of ‘SEAS OF CRISIS,’ and ‘CRUSH DEPTH’

Edwards wields politics and naval combat tactics with a skill equal to the acknowledged masters of military fiction.” — THE MILITARY PRESS

… as close as you can get to naval surface combat without being shot at. Jeff Edwards has penned a fast, no-holds-barred thriller that never lets up. Highly recommended.” — JACK DuBRUL, Bestselling author of ‘THE SILENT SEA,’ and ‘HAVOC’