Member News

News and announcements about our members.

2011 MWSA Awards


Special Recognition Awards:

Founder's Award 2011 - Out of the Mist: Memories of War by Michael “Moon” Mullins

President's Award 2011 - Gated Grief by Leila Levinson

Author of the Year 2011 - Jack Woodville London for French Letters: Engaged in War


2010 MWSA Awards


Historical Fiction

HONORABLE MENTION -- Grey Wolf – David Huffman – Winter Park, FL

BRONZE -- For the Fatherland – Walter Zapotoczny, Jr – Los Barriles, Mexico

BRONZE -- Sisters of Valor – Rosalie Turner – Angel Fire, NM

SILVER -- The Great Hour Struck – Gary Varner – Manchester, MO

GOLD -- Days of Smoke – Mark Ozeroff – Port Orange, FL

Literary Fiction

HONORABLE MENTION -- Digger Dogface Brownjob Grunt – Gary Prisk – Bainbridge Island, WA

BRONZE -- The Letter – Jerry Yellin – Vero Beach, FL


2008 MWSA Awards



Special Recognition Awards:

Founders Award: Wounded Warriors: Those for Whom the War Never Ends by Mike Sager

President's Award: Chum Water by Hodge Wood

Gold Medal Awards


2014 Conference preview

Arrived at sunny Phoenix where temperature was in the 90s. First noteworthy sight was that of Lt. Frank Luke's Spad (probably a replica). Luke, a local boy, became famous in WWI as the Balloon Buster. He received a posthumous Medal of Honor for his heroics. The Holiday Inn & Suites Airport North is a great facility! People have been arriving throughout the day. Founder Bill McDonald, past president Joyce Faulkner, lead reviewer Jim Greenwald, and a number of others.