Fiction

First Traitor

Title: First Traitor
Author: Jeff Wade
Genre: Fiction, Military
Reviewer: Bill McDonald

ISBN (links go to the MWSA Amazon store): 097479550X

America is on the verge of WWIII and the Vice President of the United States is a traitor bent upon world domination. His plot to conspire with America's enemies and bring the world to its knees seems foolproof. The conspirators have planned for everything - everything but Lieutenant Commander Jake Gregory of SEAL Team 5.

Author(s) Mentioned: 
Wade, Jeff

Nobody Comes Back: A Novel of the Battle of the Bulge

Title: Nobody Comes Back: A Novel of the Battle of the Bulge
Author: Donn Pearce
Genre: Fiction, Historical
Reviewer: Bill McDonald

ISBN (links go to the MWSA Amazon store): B000KHXCD0

Donn Pearce, the author of Cool Hand Luke, again revisits the subject of men under tremendous pressure, living and dying according to oppressive circumstances. Now, he brings you another tragic hero, thrust out of the only world he knew and forced to create one on his own terms . . . or die trying.

Toby Parker was America's unwanted son. Only sixteen years old, he was too young to be enlisted in the army, but old enough to know that he didn't want to return to the life he knew: moving from new home to new home, neglected by his mother, ignored by his father, overlooked by everyone else.

The war overseas promised exotic locations and adventure, but what it delivered was something else entirely. The Nazis were beginning to fall back, and the war was all but over. But the fighting still raged on in pockets of Europe. Out of the critical focus on France, only one last position needed to hold: the city of Bastogne. Thrown into battle almost immediately upon arrival, he soon found himself wounded and alone, struggling to survive and looked upon to lead. It was here that Toby was to learn what war really was, and what kind of man he was destined to become.

Many American boys went into World War II, and each one lived their own nightmare, critically shaped by what they experienced. Out of the dead, even the survivors, Nobody Comes Back.

Told with gritty authenticity, Donn Pearce captures the very essence of what it means to be caught under the worst circumstances imaginable, while having the strength and humanity to rise above them.

Author(s) Mentioned: 
Pearce, Donn

Sea of Shadows

Title: Sea of Shadows (formerly Topedo)
Author: Jeff Edwards
Genre: Fiction, Thriller
Reviewer: Bill McDonald

ISBN (links go to the MWSA Amazon store): 0983008507

For fans of Tom Clancy, Joe Buff, and Dale Brown…

OUT GUNNED… OUT MANEUVERED… OUT THOUGHT… THE ONLY WAY TO SURVIVE IS TO CHANGE THE RULES.

A minor accident at a German nuclear power plant, a Biological Warfare attack on the British Embassy in Washington, DC, and a secret arms deal combine to drive a trusted NATO Ally into an illegal alliance with a rogue Middle Eastern state. With the world hovering on the brink of war, a handful of U.S. Navy warships must track down and destroy a wolfpack of state-of-the-art submarines.

Their enemy is skilled in deception, and incredibly lethal. Out-gunned, out-maneuvered, and out-thought, the U.S. Navy crews must throw the rulebook out the window, and become every bit as devious and deadly as their enemy.

If they fail, the consequences are unthinkable…

“A timeless warrior epic. Jeff Edwards spins a stunning and irresistibly-believable tale of savage modern naval combat.” — JOE BUFF, Bestselling author of ‘SEAS OF CRISIS,’ and ‘CRUSH DEPTH’

“Edwards wields politics and naval combat tactics with a skill equal to the acknowledged masters of military fiction.” — THE MILITARY PRESS

“… as close as you can get to naval surface combat without being shot at. Jeff Edwards has penned a fast, no-holds-barred thriller that never lets up. Highly recommended.” — JACK DuBRUL, Bestselling author of ‘THE SILENT SEA,’ and ‘HAVOC’

Author(s) Mentioned: 
Edwards, Jeff

Reader Network: "At the Crossroads of Humanity"

I would like to welcome John E. Nevola to READER NETWORK.


At The Crossroads of Humanity


The Last Jump is a historical novel of World War II.  America had its trials and tribulations with racial and gender bias and struggled with these issues throughout the War.  A segregated military and a condescending attitude toward women made it extremely difficult for these groups to fully participate and prove themselves.  But not impossible!

Permission To Kill

Title: Permission To Kill
Author: Brian Wizard
Genre: Fiction, Historical
Reviewer: Bill McDonald

ISBN (links go to the MWSA Amazon store): 0949702234

Permission to Kill, 4th Edition, is a fictionalized account of the author’s combat experience in Viet Nam, and stories told to him by other aviators, all combined to depict a fast moving, high-flying, front line defining life as a aerial combat soldier.

Author(s) Mentioned: 
Wizard, Brian

Pages