Sunset of the Iroquois

Sunset of the Iroquois

Continue Shopping or See your cart

Item Description

It is the summer of 1779 and the height of the American Revolution. The New York frontier from Albany to the Pennsylvania border is in bloody turmoil as raiding parties of Iroquois Indians from different tribes join with Tories to attack their neighbors who they call rebels and traitors against the Crown of England. Deep in the forest, lying at the bottom of the largest of the Finger Lakes, is a small tribe of Cayuga Iroquois Indians who wish only to live their lives in peace by remaining neutral in the white man’s war. But what can a young brave do when he learns that the great General Washington has ordered a 5000-man army to invade his country and burn every town to the ground and kill or take hostage all his people and drive them from their land in revenge for these border raids?

"Sunset of the Iroquois” is a gritty, character-driven, and historically accurate depiction of the Clinton-Sullivan campaign, the invasion of the Indian country and the largest military operation ever undertaken during the American Revolution. Rarely mentioned in the history books, this true story is told from both sides with famous figures and colorful personalities, with emphasis on young warrior and Iroquois way of life. Join with Yellow Bear as he follows his father, the war chief Too Tall Pine, along with Fishcarrier, Cornplanter, Red Jacket, and other Iroquois warriors as they take up the hatchet to protect their people from annihilation.

Most of the General officers who participated in the campaign kept daily journals which provided an accurate framework for this exciting, action-packed adventure novel that also tells the story from the viewpoint of a platoon of Morgan’s Rangers, an elite group of riflemen, including the famous Timothy Murphy and his group of sharpshooters, led by the bold but rash Lieutenant Thomas Boyd, who, along with 16 of his men met a tragic end while scouting for the army.

Reader discretion advised because of graphic descriptions of violence and torture.
Cover painting is from the oil painting by Frederic Church entitled "Twilight in the Wilderness."

Michael Winston is also the author of the Jonathan Kinkaid nautical fiction series that involve us in various naval actions that took place during the American Revolution. The first book "Independent Action" follows Kinkaid aboard an American frigate searching the frigid waters of the North Atlantic for a mighty British convoy. Book two, "Uprising," finds Kinkaid in the Caribbean where he encounters not only the British Navy but strange allies. The third book in the trilogy, "Tidings of Victory," takes Kinkaid to Paris where he delivers the news of our victory at Saratoga to Ben Franklin who is trying to persuade the French to enter the war on the side of the Colonies (in progress and should be available by Christmas).

All titles available on Amazon Kindle. Don't have a Kindle? No problem. Amazon gives you a FREE Kindle for PC with your first Kindle order.

Product Details

  • Author: Michael Winston
  • Publication Date: 2011-07-04
  • Product Group: eBooks
  • Binding: Kindle Edition, 458 pages
  • ASIN: B005AM5QGQ

Customer Reviews