Uprising: Kinkaid in the West Indies (Jonathan Kinkaid Series Book 2)

Uprising: Kinkaid in the West Indies (Jonathan Kinkaid Series Book 2)

Continue Shopping or See your cart

Item Description

In this exciting second book of the series, Kinkaid’s daring and proficiency are tested to the limit when he is given command of the lightly armed brig, Swift, of 12 guns. Ordered to deliver a diplomat bearing a copy of the Declaration of Independence to the Dutch free port of St. Eustatia in the Caribbean, his mission seems easy enough. But then why have they taken on over 100 muskets and heavy weapons? All Kinkaid is told is that he must assist a major of marines with a secret assignment that takes them to the wet, steaming jungle island of Dominica, inhabited by cannibalistic Carib Indians. As if this and the might of the Royal Navy weren’t enough to contend with, Kinkaid must also gain information of any pirate activity in the Caribbean that might interfere with American shipping between St. Eustatia and American shores.
A story of strange allies and astounding deceit, of happy times followed by terrible heartbreak, where the tinkling of champagne glasses is followed by the roar of cannons in the blink of an eye, “Uprising” is rousing, fast-paced sea-going adventure in the Winston style. Cover art by the author. Bonus Material includes an exerpt from the first book in a new series about a squad of 1st Infantry Division soldiers, entitled "Baptism of Fire," due out mid-May 2012.

The first book of the Jonathan Kinkaid trilogy, "Independent Action" finds our hero serving as First Lieutenant aboard the American frigate Randolph of 32 guns, blockaded in the port of Philadelphia during the winter of 1776-77. Tasked with orders to undertake “independent action” in the frigid waters of the North Atlantic against a mighty British convoy, she manages to elude enemy warships long enough to transform her crew–from the crusty boatswain O’Toole to the teenage midshipman Billy Weatherby–into an effective fighting force. The first book of the series, "Independent Action," follows Kinkaid aboard an American frigate searching for a mighty British convoy in the frigid waters of the North Atlantic.
A story of the fury of the sea and the waste of war, of brave but fallible men and boys who find themselves in dire straights, of history and the building of character, “Independent Action” is fast-paced, old-fashioned, high seas adventure at it’s very best.

The much-anticipated third installment in the Jonathan Kinkaid historical fiction trilogy, "Tidings of Victory" is now available, in which Kinkaid is sent to Europe to deliver the news of our victory at Saratoga to Ben Franklin in Paris. Filled with spies and saboteurs, intrigue and villainy, this masterfully written tale is another triumph of high-seas adventure in the Winston style, as a more confident and newly married Kinkaid wrestles with his own demons as well as enemies of the cause. A more-than-worthy finale, in this book you will find everything you loved about the first two novels, from the sound of booming cannons in ship-to-ship battles to a bold rescue mission of American seamen from an English prison, and much more. Enjoy!

Mr. Winston's latest and most ambitious undertaking yet is "Sunset of the Iroquois," the true story of the Clinton-Sullivan Campaign of 1779, the invasion of the Indian country of New York State, a gritty, character-driven, action-packed epic adventure. While based on actual journals kept by the soldiers, this story is told from both sides.

Don't have a Kindle? No Problem. Amazon gives you a FREE Kindle for PC with your first Kindle order.

Product Details

  • Author: Michael Winston
  • Publication Date: 2011-07-02
  • Publisher: Michael Winston
  • Product Group: eBooks
  • Manufacturer: Michael Winston
  • Binding: Kindle Edition, 368 pages
  • ASIN: B0059Y3Y78

Customer Reviews