Independent Action (Jonathan Kinkaid Series)

Independent Action (Jonathan Kinkaid Series)

Continue Shopping or See your cart

Item Description

The Jonathan Kinkaid Series by Michael Winston is a highly regarded, meticulously researched, nautical fiction, action-adventure series for readers of all ages. Each book is based on actual events; each takes us to a different theatre of the war at sea during the American Revolution. Available in paperback or e-book format. All with four and five star reviews and with cover art by the author. 

In this first book "Independent Action," our hero finds himself serving as First Lieutenant aboard the American frigate Randolph of 32 guns, blockaded in the port of Philadelphia during the winter of 1776-77. Tasked with orders to undertake "independent action" in the frigid waters of the North Atlantic against a mighty British convoy, she manages to elude enemy warships long enough to transform her crew-from the crusty boatswain O'Toole to the teenage midshipman Billy Weatherby-into an effective fighting force. The "Lucky Randy" takes a number of important prizes until her luck runs out in a surprise meeting with His Majesty's Royal Navy frigate Gaspee. After suffering untold horror aboard a rotting prison hulk in New York harbor, our heroes make a bold escape to become involved in the daring Sag Harbor raid and then fight a climactic sea battle against a superior force before winning their right to return home.
A story of the fury of the sea and the waste of war, of brave but fallible men and boys who find themselves in dire straights, of history and the building of character, "Independent Action" is fast-paced, old-fashioned, high seas adventure at it's very best. Cover art by the author.

Volume two is entitled "Uprising," in which Kinkaid is given command of his own ship, Swift, of sixteen guns. His assignment is threefold: to deliver a diplomat bearing a copy of the Declaration of Independence to the Dutch free port of St. Eustatia in the Caribbean, to assist a major of marines with a mysterious assignment that takes them to the jungle island of Dominica, inhabited by cannibalistic Caribe Indians, and to gain information of any pirate activity in the Virgin Islands that may interfere with American shipping from St. Eustatia to American shores. Cover art by the author; The Attack on Hurricane Hole.

Volume three, "Hazardous Duty," finds Kinkaid in command of the 18-gun sloop of war, Ranger, tasked with scouting duties for the Continental Fleet in this third volume of the Jonathan Kinkaid Series. Braving not only the foul and frigid weather of northern waters, Kinkaid must contend with an inexperienced crew, a badly leaking ship, and personality clashes among senior officers; one of them being the bold and aggressive John Paul Jones, in command of the Frigate Alfred, not to mention trying to evade a strong and powerful British force that hopes to trap and destroy them in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Cover art by the author; The Ranger with the Continental Fleet.

Volume Four, "Tidings of Victory" tells of Captain Kinkaid and his seagoing patriots taking the news of our great victory at Saratoga to Benjamin Franklin in Paris. Filled with spies and saboteurs, intrigue and villainy, this masterfully written tale is another triumph of high-seas adventure, giving fans an intense story of booming cannons in ship-to-ship battles as well as a bold rescue of American seamen from an English prison, with a brilliant and unexpected conclusion.

In Volume Five, "The Treasure Ship," Kinkaid takes command of America's premier warship, the powerful 40-gun frigate Alliance, tasked with picking up 100,000 Spanish-milled dollars from the port of Havana, Cuba and delivering it to the coffers of Congress in Philadelphia. Needless to say there are many forces who hope to claim this vast fortune for themselves and others who would be just as happy to ensure it never reaches American shores. From the wind in the rigging to the roar of broadsides, The Treasure Ship has everything one expects in a Kinkaid adventure.

Volume Six: "The Lake War." A prequel.

Product Details

  • Author: Michael Winston
  • Publication Date: 2011-07-01
  • Publisher: Michael Winston
  • Product Group: eBooks
  • Manufacturer: Michael Winston
  • Binding: Kindle Edition, 310 pages
  • ASIN: B0059BVOW8

Customer Reviews