Independent Action: Kinkaid in the North Atlantic

Independent Action: Kinkaid in the North Atlantic

Continue Shopping or See your cart

Item Description

The Jonathan Kinkaid Series by Michael Winston is a highly regarded, meticulously researched, nautical fiction, action-adventure series for readers of all ages. Each book is based on actual events; each takes us to a different theatre of the war at sea during the American Revolution. Available in paperback or e-book format. All with four and five star reviews and with cover art by the author.
Volume One: "Independent Action"introduces our hero as he serves as First Lieutenant aboard the American frigate Randolph of 32 guns, tasked with orders to undertake "independent action" in the frigid waters of the North Atlantic against a mighty British convoy. A story of the fury of the sea and the waste of war, of brave but fallible men and boys who find themselves in dire straits, of history and the building of character, "Independent Action" is a fast-paced, old-fashioned, high seas adventure.
Volume Two: In "Uprising" Kinkaid is given command of his own ship, Swift, of sixteen guns. His mission: to assist a major of marines with a mysterious assignment that takes them to the jungle island of Dominica, inhabited by cannibalistic Caribe Indians, and to gain information of any pirate activity in the Virgin Islands that may interfere with American shipping from St. Eustatia to American shores.
Volume Three: "Hazardous Duty"finds Kinkaid in command of the 18-gun sloop of war, Ranger, tasked with scouting duties for the Continental Fleet in this third volume of the Jonathan Kinkaid Series.
Volume Four: "Tidings of Victory" tells of Captain Kinkaid and his seagoing patriots taking the news of our great victory at Saratoga to Benjamin Franklin in Paris. Filled with spies and saboteurs, intrigue and villainy, this masterfully written tale is another triumph of high-seas adventure in the Winston style.
Volume Five: In "The Treasure Ship" Kinkaid takes command of America's premier warship, the powerful 40-gun frigate Alliance, tasked with picking up 100,000 Spanish-milled dollars from the port of Havana, Cuba and delivering it to the coffers of Congress in Philadelphia. Needless to say there are many forces who hope to claim this vast fortune for themselves and others who would be just as happy to ensure it never reaches American shores. From the wind in the rigging to the roar of broadsides, The Treasure Ship has everything one expects in a Kinkaid adventure.
Volume Six: "The Lake War" takes us back to Kinkaid's first assignment as a Continental naval officer when he is sent to the north woods of New York State to assist General Benedict Arnold in the building and fighting of an inland fleet on Lake Champlain to stop the British advance.

Product Details

  • Author: Michael Winston
  • Publication Date: 2012-04-13
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Product Group: Book
  • Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Binding: Paperback, 310 pages
  • Item Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 900L x 600W x 70H
    • Weight: 101
  • Package Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 890L x 600W x 100H
    • Weight: 50
  • List Price: $12.95
  • ISBN: 1469975106
  • ASIN: 1469975106

Customer Reviews